Wildheart Book Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Obsession

on September 29, 2013

My favourite item in the whole world is my wristwatch

Given to me by my uncle, stolen by my bestfriend

I keep it beside me, when I sleep, when I read, eat, sing, dance

I discovered it missing at night, four nights ago

I had roused myself a little so I could slip it under my pillow, but, alas, it was gone!

I do not exaggerate, I caused something close to mayhem that night

Everyone got up at once, woken by my cry

They may have thought there was a burglar

And very well, for there was a burgled item, my personal wristwatcb

I feel lonely without it

I don’t know how my friend got it, but, I glimpsed a wristwatch on his wrist before he hid his hand in his pocket

One that looked like mine

My grandfather says it is well, that I was getting too attached

That is bullshit

He says a friend of his told him my behaviour toward the wristwatch, what he suspected, was Selective dementia

I wonder what he means

I do not think I am crazy, no matter what anyone thinks

Maybe one day, I’ll sue my friend and make him pay

And maybe someday, I’ll realise, when I look back, that, I was obsessed with that watch

Leave a Reply

hyacinthamutallapoetry

A topnotch WordPress.com site

linguistic pulse

analyzing the circulation of discourse in society

MyBlog - Best Online Resource for Nigerian Shopping Discounts & Deals

Visit www.MyStore.com.ng - best online shopping store in Nigeria for huge discounts on vast range of products. This store also provides nationwide home delivery & COD option.

Dooney's Kitchen

cataloguing my amazing journey through Nigerian food and Global food fusions

